LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Second Meeting of the Scientific Committee

ARGENTINA

Representative:

His Excellency Mr Carlos Lucas BLANCO Embajador, Director General de Antartida y Malvinas Relaciones Exteriores

Alternate Representatives:

Dr Aldo TOMO Jefe Programas Biologicos Antarticos

Mr Hector A. MARTINEZ CASTRO Counsellor Argentine Embassy, Canberra

AUSTRALIA

Representative:

Dr R.G. CHITTLEBOROUGH

Chief

Division of Resources Management

Department of Environment and Conservation

Government of Western Australia

Alternate Representatives:

Dr K. KERRY

Antarctic Division

Department of Science and Technology

Mr G. GURR

Antarctic Division

Department of Science and Technology

Advisers:

Mr A.J. HARRISON

Fisheries Development Authority Government of Tasmania

Mr W. DE LA MARE

Representative of Non-Government Organisations

CHILE

Representative:

His Excellency, Ambassador Jorge VALDOVINOS Ambassador to Australia Embassy of Chile, Canberra

Alternate Representatives:

Sr Alfonso FILIPPI

Adviser

Undersecretariat for Fisheries

Sr Antonio MAZZEI Subdirector Cientifico Instituto Antartico Chileno

EUROPEAN ECONOMIC COMMUNITY

Representative:

Mr Guy DUHAMEL Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, Paris

Advisers:

Professor Bruno BATTAGLIA University of Padua Padua, Italy

Mr Frans VAN BEEK Fishery Biologist Netherlands

FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF GERMANY

Representative (and Chairman of the Scientific Committee):

Dr Dietrich SAHRHAGE Federal Fisheries Research Centre

FRANCE

Representative:

M. Jean-Claude HUREAU

Professeur

Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, Paris

M. Christian CONNAN

Secrétaire des Affaires Etrangères

Ministère des Relations Extérieures

GERMAN DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC

Representative:

Dr Walter RANKE

Deputy Director for International Relations in Fisheries

JAPAN

Representative:

Mr Kazuo SHIMA Counsellor Oceanic Fisheries Department Fisheries Agency

Advisers:

Dr Takao HOSHIAI National Institute of Polar Research

Dr Keiji NASU Research Department Fisheries Agency

Mr Toshiyuki IWADO Fishery Division Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Mr Joji MORISHITA Oceanic Fisheries Department Fisheries Agency

NEW ZEALAND

Representative:

Dr Don ROBERTSON
Fisheries Research Division
Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries

Adviser:

Mr Don MACKAY Assistant Head Legal Division Ministry of Foreign Affairs

SOUTH AFRICA

Representative:

Mr George STANDER
Director
Sea Fisheries Research Institute

Alternate Representative:

Mr Andre VAN DER WESTHUYSEN Manager Antarctic and Oceanographic Research Programmes Council for Scientific and Industrial Research

Advisers:

Mr Pieter OELOFSEN
Chief Law Adviser
Department of Foreign Affairs and Information

Mr F.G. MOLL International Organisations Section Department of Foreign Affairs and Information

UNION OF SOVIET SOCIALIST REPUBLICS

Representative:

Dr Tatjana LUBIMOVA Chief Laboratory of Antarctic Resources VNIRO Research Institute

Alternate Representative:

Dr Eugene SABOURENKOV Coordinator, Fisheries Research Ministry of Fisheries

Adviser:

Mrs Olga PANKRATOVA Foreign Relations Department Ministry of Fisheries

UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND

Representative:

Dr John BEDDINGTON
Director of Marine Programmes
International Institute for the Environment and Development

Adviser:

Dr John HEAP
Polar Regions Section
South America Department
Foreign and Commonwealth Office

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Representative:

Dr Robert HOFMAN
Scientific Program Director
Marine Mammal Commission

Advisers:

Mr R. Tucker SCULLY
Director
Office of Oceans and Polar Affairs
Department of State

Dr Francis S.L. WILLIAMSON Chief Scientist Division of Polar Programs National Science Foundation

Mr Alan RYAN
Foreign Affairs Officer
National Marine Fisheries Service
NOAA

Dr Kenneth SHERMAN
Director
National Marine Fisheries Service Laboratory
NOAA

Dr Richard HENNEMUTH
Acting Director, Northeast Fisheries Center
National Marine Fisheries Service
NOAA

Dr William BROWN
Senior Scientist
Environmental Defense Fund

OBSERVERS

BELGIUM

M. Andreas VANERMEN Conseiller Service Affaires Générales Direction Générale de la Politique Ministère des Affaires Etrangères

NORWAY

Mr Ole J. ØSTVEDT
Deputy Director
Institute of Marine Research

FOOD AND AGRICULTURE ORGANISATION OF THE UNITED NATIONS

Dr John GULLAND Chief Marine Resources Service Department of Fisheries

INTERGOVERNMENTAL OCEANOGRAPHIC COMMISSION

Dr Dietrich SAHRHAGE c/- Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission Unesco Paris, France

INTERNATIONAL UNION FOR THE CONSERVATION OF NATURE AND NATURAL RESOURCES

Dr Graeme CAUGHLEY c/- International Union for the Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources Gland, Switzerland

INTERNATIONAL WHALING COMMISSION

Mr W. DE LA MARE c/- International Whaling Commission Cambridge, U.K.

SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE FOR ANTARCTIC RESEARCH AND SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE FOR OCEANIC RESEARCH

Prof. G. KNOX
Zoology Department
University of Canterbury
New Zealand