Election of Officers

7. Understanding that the Heads of Delegation had included office bearers for the Scientific Committee in their discussions concerning office bearers for the Commission, the Scientific Committee confirmed by acclamation the following appointments:

Chairman: Prof. D. Sahrhage, FRG Vice Chairmen: Dr. W. Ranke, GDR; Dr. D. Robertson, NZ

However, the Scientific Committee underlined the principle that the Scientific Committee should in future elect its office bearers according to agreed Rules of Procedure.

Program of Work for 1982 and 1983

8. Informal discussions were held on the future work of the Scientific Committee. The results of these discussions were reported to the Committee, and later to the Commission, by the then elected Chairman of the Scientific Committee. A copy of this report, as amended by the Scientific Committee, is attached in Annex 2.

Communications

9. To facilitate the inter-sessional work, it was agreed that in-respect of scientific and technical matters, the Secretariat should communicate directly with scientists and scientific institutions in member countries. For this purpose the Secretariat should, for the present, use the list of participants in the current meeting.

Closure of Meeting

10. In thanking all representatives for their active participation in a productive meeting and the Australian hosts for their assistance and hospitality, the Chairman closed the meeting.