LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Argentina

Captain (RE) Oscar Alberto Casellas Secretariat of Maritime Interests Ministry of the Economy Buenos Aires

Dr. Aldo Tomo Chief, Biological Sciences Department Argentine Antarctic Institute Buenos Aires

Australia

Dr. R.G. Chittleborough Head, Marine Studies Branch Western Australian Department of Conservation and Environment Perth

Mr. A.J. Harrison Manager, Fisheries Development Authority Government of Tasmania Hobart

Dr. K. Kerry Antarctic Division Department of Science and Technology Hobart

Chile

Mr. Alfonso Filippi Ministry of Fisheries Santiago de Chile

Mr. A. Mazzei Chilean Antarctic Institute Santiago de Chile

European Economic Community

Professor G. Hempel Head, Alfred Wegener Research Institute Bremerhaven

Mr Guy Duhamel Museum d'Histoire Naturelle Paris

Mr. Niels Daan Netherlands Institute for Fishery Investigations

France

Mr. Jean-Claude Hureau Assistant Director Museum of Natural History

German Democratic Republic

Dr. Walter Ranke Deputy Director for International Relations in Fisheries Ministry of District Controlled Industry and Foodstuff Industries Berlin

Federal Republic of Germany

Professor Dr. D. Sahrhage Federal Research Institute for Fisheries

<u>Japan</u>

Mr. Shiro Yuge Assistant Director, International Division Fishery Agency Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries Tokyo

Professor Tatsuro Matsuda National Institute of Polar Research Tokyo Dr. Keiji Nasu Far Seas Fisheries Research Laboratory Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries Tokyo

New Zealand

Dr. D. Robertson Fisheries Research Division Department of Agriculture and Fisheries Wellington

South Africa

Mr. G.H. Stander Director, Sea Fisheries Institute Department of Agriculture and Fisheries

Union of Soviet Socialist Republics

Dr. V. Shevchenko Senior Scientific Officer Ministry of Fisheries Moscow

United Kingdom

Dr. R. Laws British Antarctic Survey

Dr. J. Beddington Director, Marine Affairs International Institute for the Environment and Development London

United States of America

Mr. Robert Hofman Senior Scientific Adviser Marine Mammal Commission Washington

Mr. William Y. Brown Environmental Defense Fund Washington Mr. Ken Sherman Chief, Narragansett Laboratory National Marine Fisheries Service National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration U.S. Department of Commerce

OBSERVERS FROM INTERNATIONAL ORGANISATIONS

Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO)

Mr. John Gulland Fisheries Department Rome, Italy

International Oceanographic Commission (IOC)

Dr. Robin Barger Marine Science Officer UNESCO Regional Office for Science and Technology Jakarta, Indonesia

International Union for The Conservation Of Nature And Natural Resources (IUCN)

Mr. Graeme Caughley CSIRO Division of Wildlife Research Canberra, Australia

International Whaling Commission (IWC)

Dr. J. Bannister Chairman IWC Scientific Committee