## ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR OF THE SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE

15.1 Dr Pshenichnov's term as Vice-Chair ended with this meeting and the Scientific Committee sought nominations for a new Vice-Chair. Dr Pshenichnov nominated Mr Iversen. The Scientific Committee unanimously elected Mr Iversen to the position for a term of two regular meetings (2008 and 2009). A very warm welcome was extended to the incoming Vice-Chair.

15.2 The Scientific Committee thanked Dr Pshenichnov for his significant contribution to its work.

## OTHER BUSINESS

16.1 The Scientific Committee thanked Dr Hanchet for convening WG-FSA over the past four meetings (2004–2007). Dr Hanchet had led WG-FSA through an important transition phase during which the Working Group introduced integrated assessments, developed assessments in exploratory fisheries and established the foundation for multi-year assessments. The Scientific Committee acknowledged Dr Hanchet's leadership in this work.

16.2 The Scientific Committee welcomed Dr Jones as new Convener of WG-FSA, and Dr Constable as Convener of WG-SAM. Both conveners had led the development of the work of WG-SAM (formerly WG-FSA-SAM) and co-convened that Working Group in 2007.

16.3 The Scientific Committee thanked Dr Reid for convening WG-EMM in 2006 and 2007. Dr Reid had led WG-EMM through the initial stages of developing a management procedure for the krill fishery in Area 48, and his leadership and expertise were instrumental in the Working Group's achievements. The Scientific Committee congratulated Dr Reid on his appointment to the post of Science Officer in the Secretariat, and looked forward to further close collaboration.

16.4 The Scientific Committee welcomed Dr Watters as new Convener of WG-EMM.

16.5 The Scientific Committee congratulated two prominent committee members for achieving geographic fame. The US Board on Geographic Names has named Holt Inlet (a western arm of Lapayrère Bay, Anvers Island, in Palmer Archipelago) and Hewitt Bay (a rectangular bay 1 mile long between Biscoe Point and Access Point, Anvers Island, in Palmer Archipelago) in recognition of Dr Holt's and Dr Hewitt's distinguished achievements in Antarctic research.

16.6 The Scientific Committee conveyed its best wishes to the Science and Compliance Officer, Dr Sabourenkov, who is retiring in early 2008, after serving in the Secretariat for 24 years. Dr Sabourenkov joined the Secretariat in 1984 and has been closely involved in the work of the Scientific Committee and its working groups. The Scientific Committee thanked Dr Sabourenkov for his dedicated service and expert contributions to the work of CCAMLR.