ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRS OF THE SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE

16.1 Dr Nicol nominated Dr Kawaguchi as Vice-Chair of the Scientific Committee; this was seconded by Dr Fanta. Dr Fanta nominated Mr L. López Abellán (Spain) as Vice-Chair of the Scientific Committee; this was seconded by Dr Nicol. No further nominations were received. Dr Kawaguchi and Mr López Abellán were elected unanimously to these positions for 2002 and 2003, and both were congratulated by the Scientific Committee. The Scientific Committee also expressed its appreciation for the dedicated work of Drs Fanta and Nicol during their term as Vice-Chairs in 2000 and 2001.