## OPENING OF THE MEETING

The fifth annual meeting of the Commission of the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources was held in Hobart, Tasmania, Australia from 8 to 19 September 1986.

2. All Members of the Commission were represented: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Chile, European Economic Community, France, German Democratic Republic, Federal Republic of Germany, India, Japan, Republic of Korea, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, South Africa, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and United States of America.

3. Following established practice, acceding states were invited to attend as observers and Spain, Sweden and Uruguay attended in this capacity.

4. The Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO), Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC), the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN), the International Whaling Commission (IWC) the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) and the Scientific Committee on Oceanic Research (SCOR) were represented as observers at the meeting. A list of participants is at Annex A.

5. The Commission noted that since its last meeting, the Republic of Korea, India and Brazil had notified the Depositary Government on 20 September 1985, 30 April 1986 and 1 August 1986 respectively, in accordance with Article VII 2 (d) of the Convention, of the basis on which each sought to become a member of the Commission. The Commission further noted that no Member of the Commission had requested a special meeting to consider the notifications received from the Republic of Korea and India, and the Commission therefore warmly welcomed the Republic of Korea and India as Members of the Commission with effect from 19 November 1985 and 29 June 1986 respectively. The Depositary Government had been requested by Argentina to convene a Special Meeting to consider the notification from Brazil. The meeting was held on Monday, 8 September 1986, and the report of proceedings is included in this document as Part II.

6. The Fifth Annual Meeting of the Commission was opened by the Governor of Tasmania, His Excellency Sir James Plimsoll, at 10.00 a.m. on 8 September, 1986.

7. The Provisional Agenda was adopted by the meeting without comment. A copy of the agenda is at Annex B.

8. In his opening statement, the Chairman, Dr Orlando R. Rebagliati of Argentina, welcomed the new Members and those attending as observers. He reported on the specific actions that had been assigned to him by the Commission at the last meeting.

9. Verification of the texts of the Headquarters Agreement had been completed. In a special ceremony on the first day of the meeting, the Agreement was signed by the Hon. Barry O. Jones, the Minister for Science, on behalf of the Australian Government, and by the Chairman on behalf of the Commission.

10. In signing the Agreement the Minister said:

'Australia was honoured by the Commission's decision in 1980 to establish the permanent headquarters of CCAMLR in Hobart. ... The Antarctic Treaty system had demonstrated a capacity for evolution in the light of changing circumstances and had proven to be a truly remarkable as well as durable example of international co-operation. It had ensured that Antarctica had remained an area of peaceful co-operation, free from political contention or conflict. CCAMLR is today a vital element of the treaty system. It stands as a testament to its dynamic nature.'

11. The Minister pointed out that CCAMLR's objective and approach are in many ways unique in international conservation instruments. It seeks to develop an integrated approach to conservation. This unique approach places a correspondingly unique obligation on the Members to ensure that CCAMLR works, thereby ensuring the continuing viability of the region's marine resources in both economic and environmental terms.

12. The Chairman expressed the Commission's appreciation to the Minister for the Australian Government's efforts and hospitality in the establishment of the headquarters in Hobart. The initial stage of development had been successfully achieved under the application of an Interim Agreement, and the successful conclusion of the long-term agreement would provide a sound basis for the further development of the Commission and the implementation of the Convention.

13. The Chairman reported that he had written to Dr Powell conveying the Commission's decision to re-appoint him as Executive Secretary for a further four-year period ending in June 1990 and that Dr Powell had accepted. Copies of the correspondence had been sent to all Members.

14. The Chairman also reported that in consultation with the Executive Secretary he had prepared and distributed a draft Rule of Procedure for the election of Vice-Chairman. The document would be considered under the appropriate agenda item of the Meeting.

15. The Chairman emphasised the need to build on the progress already achieved in pursuing the principles of the Convention. In this respect he drew attention to the inclusion on the agenda of an item which would encompass a review of existing conservation measures. The basis of this review would be prepared during the Fifth Meeting of the Scientific Committee which was being held during the same two-week period in Hobart.

16. He drew attention to the continuing task of improving the flow of information on which the advice of the Committee is based.

17. Dr Rebagliati also referred to the obligation to develop a system of observation and inspection in accordance with the specification in the Convention. He noted that discussion on this matter was programmed for the meeting and drew attention to the need to make progress in the development of a suitable system.

18. The Chairman acknowledged the co-operation he had received from the Members and the Secretariat during the past year and looked forward to working together to ensure the success of the Fifth Meeting of the Commission.