LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

CCAMLR CHAIRMAN:	Dr Orlando R. REBAGLIATI Head of Antarctic Department Ministry of Foreign Affairs Buenos Aires
ARGENTINA	
Representative:	Dr Orlando R. REBAGLIATI Head of Antarctic Department Ministry of Foreign Affairs Buenos Aires
Alternate Representatives:	Dr Héctor A. MARTINEZ-CASTRO Consejero Embajada Argentina Canberra
	Hilda G. GABARDINI Secretario de Embajada Direccion General de Antartida Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores Buenos Aires
Advisers:	Dr Aldo P. TOMO Jefe del Departamento de Ciencias Biológicas Instituto Antártico Argentino Buenos Aires
	Lic. Enrique R. MARSCHOFF Departamento Ciencias Biológicas Instituto Antártico Argentino Buenos Aires
AUSTRALIA	
Representative:	Mr J.C. HUMPHREYS First Assistant Secretary Economic Division Department of Foreign Affairs
Alternate Representatives:	Mr G.F. QUINLAN Head Maritime Resources Section

Department of Foreign Affairs

Mr J. BLEASEL

Director

Antarctic Division

Department of Science

Dr G. CHITTLEBOROUGH

West Australian Department of

Conservation and Environment

Dr K. KERRY

Antarctic Division

Department of Science

Mr J.G. BROWN

General Legal Section

Department of Foreign Affairs

Mr J. KEENAN

Antarctic Policy Section

Antarctic Division

Department of Science

Mr P.J. ALLEN

Maritime Resources Section

Department of Foreign Affairs

Dr A.J. HARRISON

Tasmanian Fisheries Development

Authority

Mr S. FREAKLEY

Representative of Non-Governmental

Organisations

BELGIUM

Advisers:

Representative: His Excellency Mr Andreas DOMUS

Ambassador

Royal Belgium Embassy

Canberra

Mr M. VANTROYEN

First Secretary

Royal Belgian Embassy

CHILE

Representative:

Ministry of Foreign Affairs Santiago Alternate Representative: Sr Guillermo ANGUITA Third Secretary Embassy of Chile Canberra Adviser: Dr Antonio MAZZEI Deputy Director Antarctic Institute of Chile Santiago Sr Alfonso FILIPPI Secretary Executive Chilean Section for CCAMLR Santiago **EEC** Mr M.J. HOLDEN Representative: Head of Division XIV-B-1 Directorate General for Fisheries Commission of the European Communities Brussels Advisers: Mr A. BETTE Head of Division Directorate for Agriculture and Fisheries Council of the European Communities Brussels Miss M.A.J. DE PLANQUE First Secretary (Economic) Royal Netherlands Embassy Canberra **FRANCE** Representative: Mr Serge GARACHE Chef du Bureau des Conventions Internationales Direction des Pêches Maritimes Secrétariat d'Etat à la Mer **Paris**

Sr Medardo LAGOS

Deputy Director of Special Policies

Advisers: Mr Christian BERNIER

Secrétaire des Affaires Etrangères Direction des Affaires Juridiques/ Ministère des Relations Extérieures

Paris

Prof. Jean-Claude HUREAU

Sous-Directeur au Muséum National

d'Histoire Naturelle

Ichtyologie Générale et Appliquée

Paris

Mr Olivier ANSART Second Secretary French Embassy

Canberra

GERMAN DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC

Representative: Dr Walter RANKE

Head of Department Fischkombinat Rostock German Democratic Republic

Adviser: Mr P.M. KOESTER

Head of Deptartment for Fisheries Ministry of County Controlled Industry & Foodstuffs Industry

Berlin

GERMANY, FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF

Representative: Mr Dieter EBERLE

Counsellor

Federal Ministry for Food, Agriculture & Forestry

Bonn

Alternate Representative: Mr Wolf HAUSMANN

First Secretary

Embassy of the Federal Republic

of Germany

JAPAN

Representative:	Mr Kazuo SHIMA Counsellor Oceanic Fisheries Department Fisheries Agency Tokyo
Alternate Representative:	Dr Takao HOSHIAI Professor of National Institute of Polar Research Tokyo
Advisers:	Dr Yasuhiko SHIMADZU Far Seas Fisheries Research Laboratory Japan Fisheries Agency
	Mr Akira NAKAMAE Assistant Director International Division Fisheries Agency Tokyo
	Mr Hideomi NAKAJIMA Fisheries Division of Economic Affairs Bureau Ministry of Foreign Affairs Tokyo
	Mr Yukio KAMIJIMA Japan Deep Sea Trawlers Association Mr Takenobu TAKAHASHI
W ZEALAND	Japan Deep Sea Trawlers Association

NE

Mr Don MACKAY Representative:

Assistant Head Legal Division

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Wellington

Dr Don ROBERTSON Adviser:

Fisheries Research Division MAF

Ministry of Agriculture

and Fisheries Wellington

NORWAY

Representative:	Mr Rolf Trolle ANDERSEN Minister Plenipotentiary Ministry of Foreign Affairs Oslo
Adviser:	Mr Ole J. ØSTVEDT Deputy Director Institute of Marine Research Bergen-Nordnes
POLAND	
Representative:	His Excellency Mr Ireneusz KOSSAKOWSKI Ambassador of the Polish People's Republic Canberra
Alternate Representative:	Mr Wieslaw SLOSARCZYK Sea Fisheries Institute Gdynia
SOUTH AFRICA	
Representative:	Mr Pieter OELOFSEN Deputy Director General Department of Constitutional Development and Planning Pretoria
Alternate Representative:	Mr John D. VIALL Chief Legal Adviser Department of Foreign Affairs Pretoria
Advisers:	Mr T.F. WHEELER South African Consul Sydney
	Mr Denzil MILLER Sea Fisheries Research Institute Department of Environment Roggebaai

USSR

Mr Vladimir GRIGORIEV Representative: Head Commercial Fishing Department USSR Ministry of Fisheries Moscow Alternate Representative: Mr Oleg BAKURIN Vice Chief Foreign Department USSR Ministry of Fisheries Moscow Advisers: Dr Rudolf G. BORODIDN Department of Catch Prediction VNIRO Research Institute Moscow Mr Boris GORCHAKOV Deputy Head International Organisation Division Department of Foreign Affairs USSR Ministry of Fisheries Moscow Mr Vladimir GLADYSHEV Attaché Ministry of Foreign Affaires Treaty & Legal Department Moscow Mr Serguei KOMOGORTSEV Scientific Officer International Organisations on Fisheries Institute for Fisheries, Economics and Information Moscow UNITED KINGDOM Dr John A. HEAP Representative:

> Head of Polar Regions Section South America Department

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

London

Alternate Representative:	Dr John BEDDINGTON Director Marine Resource Assessment Group Imperial College London
Adviser:	Dr Inigo EVERSON Section Head Marine Biology British Antarctic Survey Cambridge
	Mr Andrew COOPER First Secretary British High Commission Canberra
USA	
Representative:	Mr R. Tucker SCULLY Director Office of Oceans and Polar Affairs Department of State Washington
Alternate Representative:	Dr Robert HOFMAN Scientific Program Director Marine Mammal Commission Washington
Advisers:	Dr John L. BENGTSON National Marine Mammal Laboratory NOAA/NMFS Seattle
	Dr Richard C. HENNEMUTH Director Woods Hole Laboratory National Marine Fisheries Service Woods Hole
	Mr Bruce MANHEIM Environmental Defence Fund Washington

Ms Robin TUTTLE Foreign Affairs Officer National Marine Fisheries Service Washington

Dr Francis S.L. WILLIAMSON Chief Scientist Division of Polar Programs National Science Foundation Washington

OBSERVER NATIONS & OBSERVER ORGANISATIONS

BRAZIL

Mr Edson MONTEIRO First Secretary Embassy of Brazil Canberra

INDIA

Mr S. KIPGEN Deputy High Commissioner for India Indian High Commission Canberra

KOREA, REPUBLIC OF

Mr Woo Sang KIM Minister Embassy of the Republic of Korea Canberra

Mr Yoon Kyung OH Director International Law Affairs Division Ministry of Foreign Affairs Seoul Dr Yeong GONG

Director

Deep Sea Resources Division National Fisheries Research and

Development Agency

Pusan

SPAIN

Mr Miguel A. NAVARRO

Counsellor

Embassy of Spain

Canberra

Dr Jeronimo BRAVO DE LAGUNA

Director

Laboratorio Canarias

Instituto Espanol de Oceanografia

SWEDEN

Mr Goran BOLIN

Convenor

Swedish Embassy

Canberra

IOC

Prof. Jean-Claude HUREAU

Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle Ichtyologie Générale et Appliquée

Paris

IUCN

Dr Alexandre KISS

President

Counseil Européen du Droit

de l'Environnement

University III

Strasbourg

IWC

Dr G. KIRKWOOD

Division of Fisheries Research

CSIRO

Hobart

SCAR/SCOR

Mr Nigel BONNER Chairman Sub-Committee on Conservation Biology Working Group SCAR Cambridge