Election of Chairman

- 66. At the first meeting of the Commission Australia was elected Chairman in accordance with Rule 8 of its Rules of Procedure. As Australia's term of office was due to expire before the 1985 meeting, a new Chairman was to be elected, to take office at the end of this meeting in accordance with Rule 8.
- 67. Members expressed their appreciation to Australia, which did not offer itself for re-election, and in particular thanked Mr A.D. Brown who had occupied the Chair on behalf of Australia since late in 1982.
- 68. Following nomination by Chile supported by Australia, Argentina was elected as the new Chairman of the Commission, for a term running from the end of the 1984 Meeting until the close of the 1986 Annual Meeting. Dr O.R. Rebagliati is to occupy the Chair for Argentina. Dr Rebagliati expressed his profound gratitude for the unanimous election of Argentina and undertook to carry out all the duties of the office.