## ANNEX A

## LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

CCAMLR CHAIRMAN:	His Excellency Mr A.D. BROWN Australian Ambassador to Saudi Arabia
ARGENTINA	
Representative:	Dr Orlando R. REBAGLIATI Head of Antarctic Department Ministry of Foreign Affairs Buenos Aires
Alternate Representatives:	Dr Héctor A. MARTINEZ-CASTRO Counsellor, Argentine Embassy Canberra
	Miss Hilda GABARDINI Secretary of Embassy Antarctic Department Ministry of Foreign Affairs Buenos Aires
	Dr Aldo TOMO Jefe Programas Biologicos Antarticos Instituto Antartico Argentino Buenos Aires
AUSTRALIA	
Alternate Representatives:	Mr Gerard BRENNAN Legal Adviser Department of Foreign Affairs Canberra
	Mr J.C. BLOUNT Head, Maritime Resources Section Department of Foreign Affairs Canberra
	Mr J.E. BLEASEL Director, Antarctic Division Department of Science & Technology Hobart

	Dr J.S. BOYD Acting Deputy Director Antarctic Division Department of Science & Technology Canberra
	Mr G. GURR Antarctic Policy Section Antarctic Division Department of Science & Technology Canberra
	Dr K. KERRY Australian Representative to CCAMLR Scientific Committee Antarctic Division Department of Science & Technology Hobart
Advisers:	Mr Martin BETTS Antarctic Policy Antarctic Division Department of Science & Technology Hobart
	Mr A.J. HARRISON Tasmanian Fisheries Development Authority Hobart
	Mr W. DE LA MARE Representative of Non-Governmental Organisations
BELGIUM	
Representative:	His Excellency Mr Andreas DOMUS Ambassador Embassy of Belgium Canberra CHILE
CHILE	
Representative:	Mr Rolando STEIN Director of Special Policies Department Ministry of Foreign Affairs Santiago

Alternate Representatives:	Mr Guillermo ANGUITA Third Secretary Embassy of Chile Canberra
	Mrs Lucia RAMIREZ Officer of the Antarctic Department Ministry of Foreign Affairs Santiago
Adviser:	Sr Antonio MAZZEI Deputy Director Antarctic Institute of Chile Santiago
<u>E.E.C.</u>	
Representative:	His Excellency Mr Kaj BARLEBO-LARSEN Head Delegation of the Commission of the European Communities Canberra
Alternate Representative:	Mr John SPENCER North Atlantic and Antarctic Division Directorate-General for Fisheries Commission of the European Communities Brussels
Advisers: [Representatives of the Members of the Council of the European Communities]	Mr Michael McCLOSKEY First Secretary Embassy of Ireland Canberra Mr Johan G. WILBRENNINCK Netherlands Consulate General Melbourne
FRANCE	
Representative:	Mr Serge GARACHE Chef du Bureau des Conventions Internationales Direction des Pêches Maritimes Secrétariat d'Etat à la Mer Paris

Advisers:	Prof. Jean-Claude HUREAU
	Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle
	Paris
	Mr Olivier ANSART
	French Embassy
	Canberra
GERMAN DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC	
Head of Delegation:	Dr Walter RANKE

Deputy Director for International RelationsFischkombinat RostockRostock-MarieneheGerman Democratic RepublicAdviser:Mr Peter-Michael KOESTERHead of DepartmentMinistry of County ControlledIndustry and Foodstuffs IndustryFisheries DepartmentBerlin

## GERMANY, FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF

Representative:	Mr Hartmut SCHLAPPER Federal Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Food Bonn
Alternate Representative:	Mr Christian SELL Counsellor (Economic Affairs)

Canberra

Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany

#### <u>JAPAN</u>

Representative:Mr Kazuo SHIMA<br/>Counsellor<br/>Oceanic Fisheries Department<br/>Fisheries Agency<br/>TokyoAlternative Representative:Dr Takao HOSHIAI<br/>Professor<br/>National Institute of Polar Research<br/>Tokyo

Advisers:	Mr Joji MORISHITA International Affairs Division Fisheries Agency Tokyo
	Mr Hideomi NAKAJIMA Fishery Division Economic Bureau Ministry of Foreign Affairs Tokyo
	Mr Yasuhiko SHIMADZU Far Seas Fisheries Research Laboratory Fisheries Agency Shizuoka-ken Japan
NEW ZEALAND	
Representative:	Mr Donald MACKAY Assistant Head Legal Division Ministry of Foreign Affairs Wellington
Alternate Representative:	Dr Donald ROBERTSON Fisheries Research Division Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries Wellington
NORWAY	
Representative:	Mr Rolf Trolle ANDERSEN Head of Division Legal Department Ministry of Foreign Affairs Oslo
Adviser:	Mr Torger OERITSLAND Senior Scientist Institute of Marine Research Directorate of Fisheries Nordnes-Bergen

# POLAND

Representative:	His Excellency Mr I. KOSSAKOWSKI Ambassador Embassy of the Polish People's Republic Canberra
Alternate Representative:	Mr Wieslaw SLOSARCZYK Ichthyology Department Sea Fisheries Institute Gdynia
SOUTH AFRICA	
Representative:	Mr Pieter OELOFSEN Chief Legal Adviser Department of Foreign Affairs Pretoria
Alternate Representative:	Mr Gerhard VISSER International and Scientific Organisation Section Department of Foreign Affairs Pretoria
Advisers:	Mr George STANDER Director Sea Fisheries Research Institute Rogge Bay
	Mr Denzil MILLER Oceanographer Sea Fisheries Research Institute Rogge Bay
	Dr Doug BUTTERWORTH Senior Lecturer Dept of Applied Mathematics University of Cape Town Rondebosch
<u>USSR</u>	
Representative:	Mr O.V. BAKURIN Deputy Chief Foreign Relations Department Ministry of Fisheries Moscow

Advisers:	Mr Vladimir GLADYSHEV Attaché Treaty and Legal Department Ministry of Foreign Affairs Moscow
	Dr R. MAKAROV Chief Krill Investigation Division VNIRO Research Institute Moscow
UNITED KINGDOM	
Representative:	Dr John A. HEAP Head, Polar Regions Section South America Department Foreign and Commonwealth Office London
Alternate Representative:	Dr John BEDDINGTON Director Marine Resource Group Imperial College London
Adviser:	Dr Inigo EVERSON Section Head, Marine Biology British Antarctic Survey Cambridge
<u>USA</u>	
Representative:	Mr R. Tucker SCULLY Director, Office of Oceans and Polar Affairs Department of State Washington D.C.
Advisers:	Dr John BENGTSON National Marine Mammal Laboratory NOAA/NMFS Seattle
	Dr Richard HENNEMUTH National Marine Fisheries Woods Hole

Dr Robert HOFMAN Scientific Program Director Marine Mammal Commission Washington D.C.

Dr Bernhard LETTAU Program Manager Polar Ocean Sciences National Science Foundation Washington D.C.

Mr Bruce MANHEIM Scientist Environmental Defense Fund Washington D.C.

Mr Alan RYAN Foreign Affairs Officer Narragansett Laboratory National Marine Fisheries Service Narragansett, Rhode Island

Dr Kenneth SHERMAN Director National Marine Fisheries Service Laboratory Narragansett, Rhode Island

## **OBSERVER NATIONS AND OBSERVER ORGANISATIONS**

|--|

Representative:	Mr Edson M. Duarte MONTEIRO First Secretary Embassy of Brazil Canberra
Alternate Representative:	Dr Marco BAILON Director, Fishing Research Centre, South and Southeast Region Brazilian Superintendency of Fishing Development (SUDEPE) Itajai

# <u>SPAIN</u>

Representative:	Mr Miguel Angel NAVARRO Counsellor Embassy of Spain Canberra
Adviser:	Dr Jeronimo BRAVO DE LAGUNA Director Spanish Institute of Oceanography of Sta Cruz de Tenerife Canary Islands
<u>SWEDEN</u>	
Representative:	His Excellency Mr Lars HEDSTROM Ambassador Swedish Embassy Canberra
FAO	
Representative:	Dr John GULLAND Chief Marine Resources Service Fishery Resources and Environment Division FAO, Rome
IOC	
Representative:	Prof. Jean-Claude HUREAU Sous-Directeur Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle Ichtyologie Générale et Appliquée Paris
IUCN	
Representative:	Prof. Alexandre KISS Member IUCN Commission on Environmental Policy, Law and Administration Strasbourg IWC

Representative:	Dr G. KIRKWOOD Fishery Research Division CSIRO Sydney
SCAR	
Representative:	Prof. Jean-Claude HUREAU Sous-Directeur Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle Ichtyologie Générale et Appliquée Paris
SCOR	
Representative:	Prof. Jean-Claude HUREAU Sous-Directeur Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle

Paris

Ichtyologie Générale et Appliquée