#### LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

# Second Meeting of the Commission

## **ARGENTINA**

# Representative:

His Excellency Mr Carlos Lucas BLANCO Embajador, Director General de Antartida y Malvinas Relaciones Exteriores

# Alternate Representatives:

Mr Hector A. MARTINEZ CASTRO

Counsellor

Argentine Embassy

Canberra

Ms Hilda Graciela GABARDINI

Second Secretary

Direccion General Antartida y Malvinas

Relaciones Exteriores

Miss Bibiana JONES

Third Secretary

Direccion General Antartida y Malvinas

Relaciones Exteriores

## Advisers:

Dr Aldo TOMO

Jefe Programas Biologicos Antarticos

## Col. Alberto Rodrigañez RICCHIERI

2do Comandante Antártico de Ejército

## Secretary:

Miss Celia CHACON

Administrative officer

Direccion General de Antàrtida y Malvinas

Relaciones Exteriores

## **AUSTRALIA**

## Representative:

(and Chairman of the Commission)

Mr A.D. BROWN

First Assistant Secretary

**Economic Division** 

Department of Foreign Affairs

# Alternate Representatives:

Mr G. BRENNAN

Legal Adviser

Department of Foreign Affairs

## Dr R.G. CHITTLEBOROUGH

Chief

Division of Resources Management

Department of Conservation and Environment

Government of Western Australia

Mr C.G. McCUE

Director

Antarctic Division

Department of Science and Technology

#### Mr B. WALKER

Antarctic Division

Department of Science and Technology

Mr C. PETERS-SNOW

Legal Division

Department of Foreign Affairs

Mr J.C. BLOUNT

Maritime Resources Section

Department of Foreign Affairs

# Advisers:

#### Dr K. KERRY

Antarctic Division

Department of Science and Technology

Mr G. GURR

Antarctic Division

Department of Science and Technology

#### Mr A.J. HARRISON

Fisheries Development Authority

Government of Tasmania

Mr W. DE LA MARE

Representative of Non-Government Organisations

#### **CHILE**

## Representative:

His Excellency, Ambassador Jorge VALDOVINOS

Ambassador to Australia

Embassy of Chile,

Canberra

## Alternate Representatives:

Mr L. GOYCOLEA

Counsellor

Embassy of Chile

Canberra

Mr H. RISSO VALLE

Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores

## **EUROPEAN ECONOMIC COMMUNITY**

# Representative:

Mr Eamonn GALLAGHER

Director-General

Commission of the European Communities

Brussels

# Alternate Representatives:

Mr Laurent VAN DEPOELE

Principal Administrator

Commission of the European Communities

Brussels

Mr Peter GILSDORF

Legal Adviser

Commission of the European Communities

Brussels

Miss Maeve DORAN

Principal Administrator

Commission of the European Communities

Brussels

## Advisers:

[Representatives of the Members of the Council of the European Communities]

Professor Bruno BATTAGLIA

University of Padua

Padua, Italy

Mr Ole CHRISTOFFERSEN

Head of Section

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Copenhagen

Mr Edward ROBERTS

Counsellor

Royal Netherlands Embassy

Canberra

Mr Georges ZBYSZEWSKI

Principal Administrator

Secretariat-General of the Council of the European Communities

Brussels

#### FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF GERMANY

# Representative:

Mr Hartmut SCHLAPPER

Regierungsdirektor

Bundesministerium Für Ernährung, Landwirtschaft und Forsten

# Alternate Representative:

Dr Johann FRIEDRICH

First Secretary

Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany

Canberra

# **FRANCE**

# Representative:

M. Serge GARACHE
Chef de Bureau des Conventions Internationales
Direction des Pêches
Secrétariat d'Etat de la Mer

# Advisers:

M. Jean-Claude HUREAU

Professeur

Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, Paris

M. Christian CONNAN
 Secrétaire des Affaires Etrangères
 Ministère des Relations Extérieures

# GERMAN DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC

# Representative:

Dr Walter RANKE

Deputy Director for International Relations in Fisheries

# **JAPAN**

## Representative:

Mr Kazuo SHIMA

Counsellor

Oceanic Fisheries Department

Fisheries Agency

## Alternate Representative:

Mr Kenzo OSHIMA

Counsellor

Embassy of Japan

Canberra

## Advisers:

Mr Toshiyuki IWADO

Fishery Division

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Mr Joji MORISHITA

Oceanic Fisheries Department

Fisheries Agency

Dr Takao HOSHIAI

National Institute of Polar Research

Dr Keiji NASU

Research Department

Fisheries Agency

## NEW ZEALAND

# Representative:

Mr D. MACKAY

**Assistant Head** 

Legal Division

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

## Alternate Representative:

Dr D. ROBERTSON

Fisheries Research Division

Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries

## **SOUTH AFRICA**

## Representative:

Mr Pieter OELOFSEN

Chief Law Adviser

Department of Foreign Affairs and Information

## Alternate Representatives:

Mr F.G. MOLL

**International Organisations Section** 

Department of Foreign Affairs and Information

#### Advisers:

Mr André VAN DER WESTHUYSEN

Manager

Antarctic and Oceanographic Research Programmes

Council for Scientific and Industrial Research

Mr George STANDER

Director

Sea Fisheries Research Institute

# UNION OF SOVIET SOCIALIST REPUBLICS

## Representative:

Mr Vladimir GRIGORIEV

Head

Fisheries Department

## Alternate Representatives:

Mr Oleg BAKURIN

Deputy Chief

Foreign Relations Department

Ministry of Fisheries

## Advisers:

Mr Vadim MININE

Legal Adviser

Dr Tatjana LUBIMOVA

Chief

Laboratory of Antarctic Resources

VNIRO Research Institute

Mrs Olga PANKRATOVA

Foreign Relations Department

Ministry of Fisheries

## UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND

## Representative:

Dr John HEAP

Polar Regions Section

South America Department

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

# Adviser:

Dr John BEDDINGTON

Director of Marine Programmes

International Institute for the Environment and Development

# **UNITED STATES OF AMERICA**

## Representative:

Mr R. Tucker SCULLY

Director

Office of Oceans and Polar Affairs

Department of State

## Advisers:

Dr Robert HOFMAN

Scientific Program Director

Marine Mammal Commission

Mr Alan RYAN

Foreign Affairs Officer

National Marine Fisheries Service

NOAA

Dr Francis S.L. WILLIAMSON

Chief Scientist

Division of Polar Programs

National Science Foundation

Dr Kenneth SHERMAN

Director

National Marine Fisheries Service Laboratory

NOAA

Dr Richard HENNEMUTH

Acting Director

Northeast Fisheries Center

National Marine Fisheries Service

NOAA

Dr William BROWN

Senior Scientist

Environmental Defense Fund

## Secretary:

Miss Imogene DIAL

#### Observers:

## **BELGIUM**

M. Andreas VANERMEN
Conseiller Service Affaires Générales
Direction Générale de la Politique
Ministère des Affaires Etrangéres

#### **NORWAY**

Mr Ole J. ØSTVEDT
Deputy Director
Institute of Marine Research

## FOOD AND AGRICULTURE ORGANISATION OF THE UNITED NATIONS

Dr John GULLAND

Chief

Marine Resources Service

Department of Fisheries

## INTERGOVERNMENTAL OCEANOGRAPHIC COMMISSION

Dr Dietrich SAHRHAGE

c/- Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission

Unesco

Paris, France

# INTERNATIONAL UNION FOR THE CONSERVATION OF NATURE AND NATURAL RESOURCES

Dr Alexandre KISS c/- International Union for the Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources Gland, Switzerland

# INTERNATIONAL WHALING COMMISSION

Mr W. DE LA MARE c/- International Whaling Commission Cambridge, U.K.