Election of Chairman and Vice-Chairman

- 18. Under paragraph 4 of Article XIII of the Convention, the Commission elected from among its Members Australia to be its Chairman and Japan to be its Vice-Chairman. In reaching these decisions the Commission noted the outstanding contribution made by Australia in bringing the Convention into effect, that Australia had acted as host government to the first Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting in 1961, and the precedent provided by other international organisations in which the first chairmanship had been accorded to the host government.
- 19. The Australian delegation accepted the chairmanship on behalf of the Australian Government and the leader of the Australian delegation, Dr J.L. Farrands, continued as Chairman.
- 20. Regarding the election of the Chairman of the Commission in future, the Commission noted the benefits to be derived from an arrangement which would ensure an automatic election of all Members of the Commission to that office. Therefore it was decided that, after the Australian term, the Chairmen would in succession be the Members of the Commission in the order of their names arranged alphabetically in the English language.
- 21. Furthermore, the Commission agreed that, insofar as was feasible within the arrangement for staggered terms of office foreseen in paragraph 4 of Article XIII, the election as Chairman of a Member of the Commission not engaged in research or harvesting activities, should be balanced by the election to the Vice-Chairmanship of a Member of the Commission engaged in such activities.