Membership of the Commission

5. The representative of Australia informed the meeting that the membership of the Commission was as follows:

Australia Chile European Economic Community German Democratic Republic Germany, Federal Republic of Japan New Zealand South Africa Union of the Soviet Socialist Republics United Kingdom United States of America

6. The representative of Australia added that the Governments of Argentina and France had both ratified the Convention of the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources. The instrument of ratification of the Government of Argentina had been deposited on 28 May 1982.

7. It was agreed that it would be appropriate for all signatories which are not yet members of the Commission to participate fully in all negotiations and discussions.

8. Some delegations raised questions concerning the accession of the European Economic Community and its membership of the Commission.

9. The representative of Australia stated that the Depositary Government considered that the European Economic Community had fulfilled the conditions for accession and membership of the Commission in accordance with the understandings reached at the Diplomatic Conference in Canberra in May 1980.

10. The majority of delegations agreed with that interpretation. Some delegations, however, did not agree. Consequently, consultations were held on this subject.

11. In conclusion, the meeting agreed that the European Economic Community had fulfilled the conditions for membership of the Commission provided by the Convention and it was therefore a Member of the Commission.