Opening of Meeting

The first meeting of the Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources was held in Parliament House, Hobart. It commenced at 10 a.m. on Tuesday 25 May 1982. Australia, as host country, occupied the Chair. Dr J.L. Farrands, the leader of the Australian Delegation, acted as temporary Chairman.

- 2. Representatives of the fifteen original signatories of the Convention on the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources and the European Economic Community participated in the meeting. The Food and Agriculture Organisation, the International Whaling Commission, the Inter-Governmental Oceanographic Commission, and the International Union for the Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources attended the meeting as observers. A list of participants is attached at Annex A.
- 3. The opening session, which was open to the members of the public and press, was addressed by the Honourable Michael Hodgman, M.P., Minister Assisting in Industry and Commerce, on behalf of the Australian Government.
- 4. Mr Hodgman welcomed delegations and said that the meeting signified the beginning of the practical realisation of the unique conservation regime embodied in the Convention. The text of his speech is attached at Annex B.