## REPORT OF THE THIRTIETH MEETING OF THE COMMISSION

(Hobart, Australia, 24 October to 4 November 2011)

## OPENING OF THE MEETING

- 1.1 The Thirtieth Annual Meeting of the Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources was held in Hobart, Tasmania, Australia, from 24 October to 4 November 2011. It was chaired by Mr T. Løbach (Norway).
- 1.2 The following Members of the Commission were represented: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, People's Republic of China (hereafter referred to as China), Chile, European Union, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Namibia, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Russian Federation, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America and Uruguay.
- 1.3 Other Contracting Parties, Bulgaria, Canada, Cook Islands, Finland, Greece, Mauritius, Netherlands, Peru and Vanuatu, were invited to attend the meeting as Observers. Netherlands was represented.
- 1.4 The Agreement on the Conservation of Albatrosses and Petrels (ACAP), the Antarctic and Southern Ocean Coalition (ASOC), the Commission for the Conservation of Southern Bluefin Tuna (CCSBT), the Committee for Environmental Protection (CEP), the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species (CITES), the Coalition of Legal Toothfish Operators (COLTO), the Permanent Commission on the South Pacific (CPPS), the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), the Forum Fisheries Agency (FFA), the Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission (IATTC), the International Commission for the Conservation of Atlantic Tunas (ICCAT), the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC), the World Conservation Union (IUCN), the International Whaling Commission (IWC), the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR), the Scientific Committee on Oceanic Research (SCOR), the South East Atlantic Fisheries Organisation (SEAFO), the Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC), the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the Commission for the Conservation and Management of the Highly Migratory Fish Stocks of the Western and Central Pacific Ocean (WCPFC) were also invited to attend the meeting as observers. ACAP, ASOC, CCSBT, CEP, COLTO, FAO, IUCN, IWC, SCAR and SEAFO attended.
- 1.5 In accordance with the Commission's decision last year (CCAMLR-XXIX, paragraph 17.1) and COMM CIRC 11/45, the following non-Contracting Parties (NCPs) were invited to attend CCAMLR-XXX as observers: Antigua, Bahamas, Cambodia, Colombia, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Islamic Republic of Iran, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, Nigeria, Panamá, Philippines, Singapore, Seychelles, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, United Arab Emirates and Vietnam. There were no NCPs represented.
- 1.6 The List of Participants is given in Annex 1. The List of Documents presented to the meeting is given in Annex 2.

- 1.7 The Chair welcomed all participants to the meeting. He said that it was a privilege for Norway to chair the Commission's annual meeting and thanked Members for their support and encouragement.
- 1.8 The Chair introduced His Excellency the Honourable Peter Underwood AC, Governor of Tasmania, who he said maintained a keen interest in Antarctic affairs and consequently the work of CCAMLR. His Excellency's opening address is at Annex 3.
- 1.9 On behalf of the Tasmanian aboriginal community, Ms Theresa Sainty provided a traditional Welcome to Country for all participants.