ELECTION OF CHAIR

16.1 The Commission elected Norway as Chair of the Commission from the end of this meeting until the conclusion of the 2012 meeting.

16.2 In accepting the position of Chair, Norway thanked the Members for their confidence and indicated that Mr T. Løbach would assume the role.

16.3 The Commission extended its thanks to Norway and recorded its pleasure that Mr Løbach will be the Commission's next Chair.

NEXT MEETING

Invitation of observers

17.1 The Commission will invite the following to attend the Thirtieth Meeting of the Commission as observers:

- non-Member Contracting Parties Bulgaria, Canada, Cook Islands, Finland, Greece, Mauritius, Netherlands, Peru and Vanuatu;
- non-Contracting Parties participating in the CDS who are involved in harvesting or landing and/or trade of toothfish Seychelles and Singapore;
- non-Contracting Parties not participating in the CDS but possibly involved in harvesting or landing and/or trade of toothfish – Bahamas, Cambodia, Colombia, Dominican Republic (new since 2008/09), Equatorial Guinea, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Panama, Philippines, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey (new since 2008/09), United Arab Emirates, Vietnam. Belarus, Morocco, St Kitts and Nevis are not reported to have traded any toothfish during the 2009/10 intersessional period, although it is possible that they will next year.

17.2 The Executive Secretary advised the Commission that a list of non-Contracting Parties to be invited to CCAMLR-XXX will be circulated to Members for comment prior to meeting invitations being issued in July 2011.

17.3 The following intergovernmental organisations will be invited: ACAP, CCSBT, CEP, CITES, CPPS, FAO, FFA, IATTC, ICCAT, IOC, IUCN, IWC, SCAR, SCOR, SEAFO, SPC, UNEP and WCPFC.

17.4 The following non-government organisations will be invited: ASOC and COLTO.

Date and location of the next meeting

17.5 The Commission noted that its next meeting will be held at the CCAMLR Headquarters in Hobart, Australia.

17.6 The Commission agreed that its Thirtieth Meeting will be held from 24 October to 4 November 2011. Heads of Delegations were requested to be in Hobart for a meeting on 23 October 2011.

17.7 The Commission noted that the Thirtieth Meeting of the Scientific Committee will be held in the same location, from 24 to 28 October 2011.