REPORT OF THE TWENTY-NINTH MEETING OF THE COMMISSION

(Hobart, Australia, 25 October to 5 November 2010)

OPENING OF THE MEETING

- 1.1 The Twenty-ninth Annual Meeting of the Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources was held in Hobart, Tasmania, Australia, from 25 October to 5 November 2010. It was chaired by Ambassador D. MacKay (New Zealand).
- 1.2 All 25 Members of the Commission were represented: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, People's Republic of China (hereafter referred to as China), Chile, European Union, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Namibia, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Russian Federation, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America and Uruguay.
- 1.3 Other Contracting Parties, Bulgaria, Canada, Cook Islands, Finland, Greece, Mauritius, Netherlands, Peru and Vanuatu, were invited to attend the meeting as observers. Netherlands was represented.
- The Agreement on the Conservation of Albatrosses and Petrels (ACAP), the Antarctic 1.4 and Southern Ocean Coalition (ASOC), the Commission for the Conservation of Southern Bluefin Tuna (CCSBT), the Committee for Environmental Protection (CEP), the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species (CITES), the Coalition of Legal Toothfish Operators (COLTO), the Permanent Commission on the South Pacific (CPPS), the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), the Forum Fisheries Agency (FFA), the Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission (IATTC), the International Commission for the Conservation of Atlantic Tunas (ICCAT), the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC), the World Conservation Union (IUCN), the International Whaling Commission (IWC), the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR), the Scientific Committee on Oceanic Research (SCOR), the South East Atlantic Fisheries Organisation (SEAFO), the Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC), the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the Commission for the Conservation and Management of the Highly Migratory Fish Stocks of the Western and Central Pacific Ocean (WCPFC) were also invited to attend the meeting as observers. ACAP, ASOC, CCSBT, CEP, COLTO, IWC, SCAR and SEAFO attended. SCAR also represented SCOR in relation to their joint activity relevant to CCAMLR's work (Southern Ocean Observing System (SOOS)).
- 1.5 In accordance with the Commission's decision last year (CCAMLR-XXVIII, paragraph 19.1) and COMM CIRC 10/48, the following non-Contracting Parties were invited to attend CCAMLR-XXIX as observers: Bahamas, Belarus, Cambodia, Colombia, Equatorial Guinea, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Mozambique, Nigeria, Panamá, Philippines, St Kitts and Nevis, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, United Arab Emirates and Vietnam. Nigeria was represented at the meeting.
- 1.6 The List of Participants is given in Annex 1. The List of Documents presented to the meeting is given in Annex 2.
- 1.7 The Chair welcomed all participants to the meeting. He said that it was an honour for New Zealand to chair the Commission's annual meeting for the second time and thanked

Members for their support and encouragement. The Chair also thanked the Government of Australia, the Depositary of the Convention, and the State of Tasmania for their support and hospitality.

1.8 The Chair introduced His Excellency the Honourable Peter Underwood AC, Governor of Tasmania, who he said maintained a keen interest in Antarctic affairs and consequently the work of CCAMLR. His Excellency's opening address is at Annex 3.