APPOINTMENT OF EXECUTIVE SECRETARY

- 17.1 The Chair reported to the Commission that a selection committee comprising the Heads of Delegations of Commission Members had selected Mr A. Wright (Australia) to take over from the present Executive Secretary, and that Mr Wright had accepted the appointment. The Commission congratulated Mr Wright on his appointment.
- 17.2 The Commission noted that Mr Wright is currently Executive Secretary of the WCPFC and had requested to delay his appointment until April 2010. It approved the extension of Dr Miller's appointment until the end of April 2010 to enable a two-week handover with Mr Wright.

ELECTION OF COMMISSION VICE-CHAIR

18.1 The Commission elected Sweden with acclaim to continue as Vice-Chair of the Commission from the end of CCAMLR-XXVIII until the conclusion of CCAMLR-XXX in 2011.

NEXT MEETING

Invitation of observers

- 19.1 The Commission will invite the following to attend the Twenty-ninth Meeting of the Commission as observers:
 - non-Member Contracting Parties Bulgaria, Canada, Cook Islands, Finland, Greece, Mauritius, Netherlands, Peru and Vanuatu;
 - non-Contracting Parties, participating in the CDS, that are involved in harvesting or landing and/or trade of toothfish Lithuania, Seychelles and Singapore;
 - non-Contracting Parties, not participating in the CDS, but possibly involved in harvesting or landing and/or trade of toothfish – Bahamas, Belarus, Cambodia, Colombia, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Equatorial Guinea, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Mozambique, Nigeria, Panamá, Philippines, St Kitts and Nevis, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, United Arab Emirates and Vietnam.
- 19.2 The Executive Secretary advised the Commission that a list of non-Contracting Parties to be invited to CCAMLR-XXIX will be circulated to Members for comment prior to meeting invitations being issued in July 2010.
- 19.3 The following intergovernmental organisations will be invited: ACAP, CCSBT, CEP, CITES, CPPS, FAO, FFA, IATTC, ICCAT, IOC, IUCN, IWC, SCAR, SCOR, SEAFO, SPC, UNEP and WCPFC (for full designation of these acronyms please refer to paragraph 1.4).
- 19.4 The following non-governmental organisations will be invited: ASOC and COLTO.

Date and location of the next meeting

- 19.5 The Commission noted that the next meeting would be held at CCAMLR Headquarters in Hobart, Australia.
- 19.6 The Commission agreed that its Twenty-ninth Meeting would be held from 25 October to 5 November 2010. Heads of Delegation were requested to be in Hobart for a meeting on 24 October 2010.
- 19.7 The Commission noted that the Twenty-ninth Meeting of the Scientific Committee would be held at the same location, from 25 to 29 October 2010.